Manitoba Geocaching Association


 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileEdit Profile/Settings   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

My eXplorist 500LE won't find satellites...help!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MBGA Forum Index -> Off-Topic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tedmukdyluk



Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Apr 27, 2008 5:59 pm    Post subject: My eXplorist 500LE won't find satellites...help! Reply with quote

It's Sunday and we're ready to hit the road but the gps won't track any satellites. It asked for coordinates and time and they were correct but it's still sitting on my deck looking to track a satellite. I've tried removing the sd card, clearing memory and reloading the firmware update but still nothing. Any thoughts or am I s.o.l. with a dead gps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lizardo



Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Apr 28, 2008 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you on Earth? Just kidding. Razz

When you reset it, did you put in the coordinates and set the date/time? I had trouble once when I didn't set the date correctly. I have no idea why.

_________________
Have you hugged a lizard today?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
tedmukdyluk



Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Apr 28, 2008 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The alternate planet theory might explain a couple of things (ie kids!) but I'm afraid I am stuck here on earth!

I tried the reset with the option of picking out the province and setting. It didn't work! I updated the approximate coordinates in the reset and that didn't work either. Judging by the email response from Magellan Support it sounds like its headed for repair.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dani_carriere



Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 502
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Apr 29, 2008 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a similar problem with my Magellan GPS310. I Googled the problem and there was a way of resetting the machine. For my model, all I had to do was start the machine up and hold in the Enter button and it started in a "safe mode", then I had to have the GPS sit in a south facing window or outside for a few hours and it reset itself.

Google the problem you're having, with the GPS model, there may be some instructions out there to help you out.

_________________
I use multi-billion dollar military satellite systems to find Tupperware in the forest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MBGA Forum Index -> Off-Topic Time synchronized with your computer time
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

GPS
Central Landsharkz MBGA 5th Anniversary Geocoin GPS Wolf Hunt