Manitoba Geocaching Association


 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileEdit Profile/Settings   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Dipping a TB

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MBGA Forum Index -> Trackables
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stingy bandits



Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mar 08, 2010 12:21 am    Post subject: Dipping a TB Reply with quote

Rolling Eyes We have made both of our cars into TB's, but now we don't know how to log their visits to caches! we have seen TB dip before, but don't know how to do that at geoccaching.com in the logs. If someone can help us log our "cache mobile", we'd appreciate it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dragonfreys



Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 364
Location: Manitoba-Westman

PostPosted: Mar 08, 2010 3:38 am    Post subject: Dipping Reply with quote

Hi,

All you need to do is make sure your TB is retrieved into your inventory before you begin your geocache log and then select it at the bottom of your log before you publish the log. Then you just pick it up from that location to go back into your inventory.

Happy caching,
Dragonfreys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stingy bandits



Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mar 15, 2010 1:56 am    Post subject: Dipping a TB Reply with quote

Thank you dragonfreys, however, when I logged all of the caches (wrote notes for previous ones and logged today's using the drop off and retrieve procedures), no miles were logged for the TB. It still comes up as 0km when I check the TB. What did I do wrong???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glacier_ice



Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Mar 15, 2010 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see that Cache Mobile RABBIT hasn't even entered your inventory.

But it appears that you did Cache Mobile BIRD correctly.

I've noticed that sometimes it takes a day for the GC servers to caculate the distance and then publish it. Check again tomorrow.

_________________
"So do they sometimes hide caches in dog poo like this?" "No, that's real poo. You might want to put that down."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pilotmounders



Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mar 15, 2010 3:54 am    Post subject: Re: Dipping a TB Reply with quote

stingy bandits wrote:
Thank you dragonfreys, however, when I logged all of the caches (wrote notes for previous ones and logged today's using the drop off and retrieve procedures), no miles were logged for the TB. It still comes up as 0km when I check the TB. What did I do wrong???


I do this all the time with mine, you have to go to the drop down tab that says "Mark Item Missing" & click to drop down window & change it to "recalculate distance" then hit go & it'll update the milage & give you a map to go with it.

_________________
Those who dare win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ertyu



Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 553
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Mar 15, 2010 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are just writing a log to drop a bug, you should generally delete the log immediately as it serves no purpose and clutters up the cache page. The action 'bug drop' won't be reversed by deleting the log.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MBGA Forum Index -> Trackables Time synchronized with your computer time
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

GPS
Central Landsharkz MBGA 5th Anniversary Geocoin GPS Wolf Hunt