Manitoba Geocaching Association

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileEdit Profile/Settings   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Trail maps for Winnipeg parks etc.

View previous topic :: View next topic  
brucered

PostPosted: Jun 08, 2009 7:42 pm    Post subject: Trail maps for Winnipeg parks etc. Reply with quote

anyone know if there are FREE LEGAL maps available showing the TRAILS for places like Assiniboine, Beaudry, The Forks, Birds Hill etc?

I have been to Assiniboine a few times now to grab some caches, but the Garmin & Ibycus maps don't show trails. I've marked a few for my own use (i'm no expert), but it sure would help to have some complete ones.
Old Billygoat

PostPosted: Jun 09, 2009 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can get trail maps of most city parks from this website:
http://www.winnipeg.ca/publicworks/naturalist/ns/trails/trailpoints.asp

I've attached an example.

Assiniboine Forest.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  380.75 KB
 Viewed:  528 Time(s)

Assiniboine Forest.jpg

brucered

PostPosted: Jun 09, 2009 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks. (i even work for the city and didn't know that).

i'm guessing they are NOT uploadable though.
MuStash

PostPosted: Mar 08, 2012 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

During the last couple of months I have walked all of the significant trails within the Assiniboine Forest on the south side of Grant Avenue. My goal was to get some exercise and fresh air in a natural environment and to capture the tracks with my GPS for my own purposes and to share them.