Manitoba Geocaching Association

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileEdit Profile/Settings   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Greetings from Ontario

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Team Goju

PostPosted: Oct 02, 2009 8:03 pm    Post subject: Greetings from Ontario Reply with quote

I will be visiting a close friend in Winnipeg during Thanksgiving, and she wants me to introduce her to geocaching. I am looking for any recommendations local cachers have for caches within 20-30 mins of the south-end of the city, or small concentrated cache run (4-6) in a scenic area. Any beautiful or historic locations that would be a must visit and that aren't too challenging of a hike or a find. I am also an avid photographer, so caches that suit this would be great too. As well...could someone give me a good location for a spot to catch the sunset, you know...something romantic..lol
I appreciate any ideas....
Thanks everyone
Steve
(Team Goju)
TurdleEggs

PostPosted: Oct 03, 2009 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Team Goju,

Welcome to Winnipeg!

A visit to the old Trappiste Monastery should fit the bill. World Peace is a must do cache there. Also, Pollock Island is a historic site nearby and it has good signage and a view of the river. Another one in the vicinity is Where Rivers Still Collide in St Norbert Heritage Park.

For short caching runs in scenic areas in the south end, you might visit La Barriere Park. Its 10-15 minutes south of Winnipeg with some nice (longish) trails along the river. One of the 11 caches there is Bridge Blitz. Kings Park just inside the city has some very nice (and shorter) trails along the river. One of the 7 caches there is called HUH? Finally, the university of Manitoba and its agricultural fields have some interesting sights and history. The 1950 Flood cache might be of interest. There’re 17 caches around the campus.