Manitoba Geocaching Association


 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileEdit Profile/Settings   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The mechanics of manually entering coords into your GPS

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MBGA Forum Index -> Caching
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dani_carriere



Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 502
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Oct 09, 2008 12:21 am    Post subject: The mechanics of manually entering coords into your GPS Reply with quote

Hello all!

We recently had a geocaching training session for the Leisure Guide and several attendees brought their personal GPS units and expected us to know how to enter coords. We were able to muddle through and get them entered, however it was cumbersome and time consuming. We'd like to create a handout of step by step instructions on manually entering coords for students based on each GPS unit.

Since our community has a wide range of different models of GPS units, we'd like to ask for your assistance.

Can you post the make/model of your machine, followed by step by step (preferably NOT paragraph form) instructions of how you MANUALLY enter the coords for your particular unit. We don't need to know about uploading via patch cables and software. This is just something we need for training new users.

Example:

GPS: Garmin eTrex Vista
How to enter manual coordinates:
1. Turn machine on using power button located on the lower right hand side of the unit.
2. While outside of a building (preferably away from tall buildings and trees), wait while acquiring a signal.
3. When the screen displays the message "Ready to Navigate. Accuracy: xx feet", use the toggle button to move the cursor to the menus button located in the top right corner of the screen.
4. Click on the menus button and select "Main Menu".
5. Using the toggle button, move the cursor to the "Mark" icon, and click on it.
6. Using the toggle button, select the waypoing icon located in the flag at the top of the screen.
7. From the list, select the waypoint type "Geocache".
8. Back in the flag on the waypoint page, select the cache name (may appear as 001, 002, 003, etc).
9. Using the keyboard and toggle button, name your geocache, clicking OK when you've finished.
10. On the waypoint page, select Location.
11. Using the number pad and toggle button, change the coordinates of the geocache. The < and > selections on the number pad will assist in skipping some numbers. Click OK when finished.
12. On the waypoint page, use the toggle button to move your cursor to the OK button and select it.
13. The waypoint is now entered and may be viewed on a map or a compass screen. It can also be searched by name or by its proximity to your current location.


Thank you!

_________________
I use multi-billion dollar military satellite systems to find Tupperware in the forest.


Last edited by dani_carriere on Oct 09, 2008 2:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dani_carriere



Joined: 04 Feb 2005
Posts: 502
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Oct 09, 2008 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GPS: Magellan GPS 310, GPS 315, or GPS 320
How to enter manual coordinates:
1. Turn machine on using power button located on the lower right hand corner of the unit.
2. While outside of a building (preferably away from tall buildings and trees), wait while acquiring a signal.
3. The receiver will begin acquiring data from the satellites in view and will display the progress on the Status screen. Once the receiver has a fix on a position, the Position screen will be displayed.
4. Click the Mark button to save a waypoint (also known as "landmark").
5. To save the waypoint using the name generated by the GPS, select Mark again.
6. To save the waypoint using a name you've selected, select Enter, then using the arrows on the center button of your unit, select the numbers or letters for the name. The up and down arrows will go opposites directions through the alphabet and numbers. The left and right arrows will let you select the next letter in your waypoint name.
7. Click Enter to save your name.
8. To change the waypoint coordinates, use the up and down arrows to select a new number, and the left and right arrows to select the number you are working with.
9. Once you have the coordinates entered, select Enter.
10. Click on Mark to finalize the entry of your waypoint.

_________________
I use multi-billion dollar military satellite systems to find Tupperware in the forest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kabuthunk



Joined: 19 Aug 2006
Posts: 262
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Oct 09, 2008 5:44 am    Post subject: Re: The mechanics of manually entering coords into your GPS Reply with quote

dani_carriere wrote:
(preferably NOT paragraph form) instructions
Sad


But anyway:
GPS: Garmin GPSMap 60Cx
1. Turn on the GPS with the power button on the top, in front of the antenna.
2. Wait for the two blue startup screens are gone (about 5 seconds).
3. Wait to acquire a signal (not specifically required to just enter coordinates)
4. You may press the 'PAGE' button on the right twice to go to the map if you wish, and then press 'MARK' button on the left. Or simply just press the 'MARK' button from any screen.
5. It should currently have "OK" highlighted on the screen. Push the 'up' arrow on the center directional pad twice. The coordinates should now be highlighted.
6. Press the 'ENTR' button on the bottom of the GPS.
7. It should now have the letter 'N' (or 'S') highlighted, as well as the 'right' arrow above in the number pad that just came up.
8. Press 'ENTR' on the currently highlighted 'right' arrow, and the first number should be highlighted. If you need to change the N to S, use the directional arrow pad to highlight the 'up' or 'down' arrow, and press 'ENTR'. Highlight the 'right' arrow once again and press 'ENTR'.
9. Once the first number is highlighted, use the directional pad to highlight the number you wish to be in that position, followed by pressing 'ENTR'. It will automatically move to the next number.
10. Continue entering the desired coordinates. Once it reaches the end of the first line, it will highlight the 'W' (or 'E') on the second line. You may change it as with step 8.
11. Enter the numbers for the second half of the coordinates, as ith steps 9 and 10, until you reach the final number. After entering the final number, it will once again highlight the 'N' (or 'S') on the top line.
12. Use the directional pad to select 'OK', and press 'ENTR'. Optionally, you may also simply press 'PAGE' to save the coordinates.
13. If you wish to change the name or icon of the cache, use the directional pad to select the desired field, and press the 'ENTR' button. You can then change the fields with the on-screen keypad, using the directional pad like before.
14. Once you are done, use the directional pad to highlight 'OK' at the bottom of the screen, and press the 'ENTR' button.

The waypoint is now ready to be used. If you are not currently at the map screen, press the 'PAGE' button on the right until the map is showing. If your waypoint is not visible, you can locate it by pressing the 'FIND' button on the left, and using that to locate it.

_________________
Ia Numtaru, ia Lammia, ia Asaku, ia Pazuzu.
Ia Zixul zi Azkak. Ia Gula zi Pazu. Alal uggae Utukuku Xul. Ia Ia Pazuzu.
Ia Ningursu ia ia Umduggu. Shemti Shebui Nehenkau. Addu Nergal Arrallu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lizardo



Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Oct 14, 2008 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Time to hear from the Magellan eXplorist crowd:

1.Power on GPS

2.Press the Mark button (If you have no signal, ie, indoors, you will get an advice note letting you know this. If you are just sitting on your couch entering coords, then bypass the warning. If you are trying to mark your current position, then get a better signal and press Mark again.)

3.Use the joystick to Navigate to, and enter information into the various fields. Mandatory field: Location (Latitude and Longitude). The other fields are optional. (see the notes below for an exhaustive explanation)

4. Editing the Latitiude and Longitude: Use the joystick (up/down) to get to the "Location" box. Click the stick. Edit the numbers by moving the joystick up or down, and then right to move to the next digit. Once you are done with the Latitude, click the Joystick, and you will be able to edit the longitude in the exact same fashion.

5. Click the Joystick to confirm your coordinates. This will highlight the Elevation field. Simply move down till you get to Save, and click the stick.

To view this waypoint, you can press Menu, then select "Pts of Interest", then "My Pts of Interest". (notice at the bottom of the points of interest screen, you can change the display method from "Alphabetical" to "Nearest")

Here is a description of the other fields on the "Mark" screen in the order they appear.
Vis-This is a checkbox indicating whether or not this Waypoint will be visible on your "Map" Screen. Default:on
Icon-This field allows you to select the type of icon that will be displayed on your screen. If you would like to identify different types of caches with different on-screen icons (Traditional/Puzzle/Multi) then this is where you could do that. Default: "cross over a yellow box"
Name:This is a recommended field for editing. This will be the name of the waypoint when you look at it on the map or look for it in the list. If this is a waypoint you will be hanging onto for a while, you may wish to edit this so you will remember what it represents. Default: POI001
Location:See initial instructions above.
Elevation: If you are marking your current position, this will be filled in with what your GPS determines your altitude to be.
Message: Here you can put some notes about the waypoint. Helpful if you are marking a fishing spot. You can put water temp, time of day, etc.

Hope that helps somebody. Feel free to e-mail me if you need more direct help.

_________________
Have you hugged a lizard today?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
swelbergen



Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Oct 15, 2008 2:45 am    Post subject: Thanks! Reply with quote

I'm so glad that I'd checked the minutes of the last meeting and saw that this would be posted. Thanks, I have always wondered exactly how to do it! BTW, I may have the questions and answers to the Endangered Species Game from when my class did it in the spring. Let Carmene know to contact me if needed. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
villiam



Joined: 27 Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Sep 05, 2009 4:35 am    Post subject: Triton Instructions Reply with quote

This should work for all Triton models, but it is based on the 1500.

With the Triton's you can either create a waypoint or a geocache on the fly. The screens to do either are identical except for seeing waypoint vs geocache. Also the possible icons to use differ between waypoint and geocache. The geocache icons use GC.com icons.

This also assumes you are using the latest (as of the date of this post) firmware. If not some of the entry screens will look a little different if it is older.


  1. Power on GPS
  2. Press menu
  3. Use the centre directional key to select create and press the centre of the directional key
  4. Choose either waypoint or geocache
  5. You will be asked what to create the point from, the choices are current location, point on map, coordinates. Point on map allows you to move the cursor on the map to pick the lat/long. Most people will want to just enter coordinates, so choose that option
  6. You will be on the info screen, press down on the directional key to move to the name field. Then press the middle button to select it and get the popup keyboard. Enter whatever name you want, and when done cursor down to the green checkmark and press the middle button
  7. At this point if you move left and select the center button you can pick an icon.
  8. cursor down again to select the coordinate spot and select the center button
  9. you can change the input format by pressing up on the directional button and then pressing the center button. You can change the accuracy to DEG.DDDD, DEG/MIN.MMM or DEG/MIN/SEC
  10. After selecting your format and exiting, you can then use the directional keys to move from one segmant of the coordinate to the next. For the number enteries you are able to use the directional pad to select the digit you wish to change (left/right) and then increase(up)/decrease(down) the value of that digit. When happy press the center button. For the direction part you also use either up or down to change the direction
  11. At this point you are essentially done. The other fields can be left as default, but are editable (except for distance and bearing)
  12. The final step is to cursor back up to the circle with a floppy disk, press the center button and your waypoint/geocache has now been saved

Now if you started the process before a sat lock you may be warned to select current date in order to save the waypoint/geocache. This just means you need to cursor down until you get to the date field and make sure it is populated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
angelcastaneda



Joined: 04 Jan 2010
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Jan 07, 2010 7:19 pm    Post subject: Garmin eTrex Legend Reply with quote

I hope this helps:

Garmin eTrex Legend ("the blue one")

1. Power on the unit.
2. Press the Page button (top right) until you get to the Main Menu.
3. Using the rocker button, move down to "Mark" and click it.

4a. (Optional) Move down to 00x (most likely 001, if it's the first time this is being used) and click it.
4b. (Optional)You can then change the name of this waypoint by moving around with the rocker, and clicking the letter you want. Click OK once done.

5a. Move down to Location and click it. You are now editing coordinates.
5b. Click the up or down arrows (on the screen) if you want to change from N to S, or W to E. Move right once done.
5c. Enter the coordinates you were provided (no need to enter the or .). Click OK once done.
6. Click OK to save this waypoint, or Go To if you are ready to head out and start geocaching.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MissionMode



Joined: 27 Nov 2009
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Jan 07, 2010 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Process for entering coordinates into a Delorme PN-series GPSR.

1. Press the pin button at the bottom of the device to create a waypoint at the current location.
2. Click down once and you will have selected the Icon at the top of the UI. If you want to change it from being a Pin, press Enter, otherwise proceed to step 4. Note that choosing one of the standard Geocache icons will let the GPS know it is a Geocache and you will receive a warning.
3. Scroll through the available icons and click Enter to choose it.
4. Click to the right to select the Waypoint name. If you want to edit it click Enter, otherwise proceed to step 6.
5. Use the keyboard screen to type the new name and then place the cursor on top of the word OK and press Enter to accept it.
6. Press down to select the coordinates. Press Enter to edit them. Use the left-right scroll to move between the coordinates and the up-down scroll to change the values N-S or E-W or numbers. Press Enter to accept the changed coordinates.
7. Click down to select the Elevation. If you want to edit it press Enter or continue to step 9.
8. Use the left-right scroll to move between the digits and the up-down scroll to change the values . Press Enter to accept the changed elevation.
9. Click right to select the Time that the waypoint was created. Click Enter to edit the Time, otherwise proceed to step 10. Edit the Time as described in step 8.
10. Click down to select the Date. Click Enter to edit the Date, otherwise proceed to step 11. Edit the Date as described in step 8.
11. Click down to select the Comments. Click Enter to add comments as described in step 5, otherwise continue to step 12.
12. Click down to select View. Then click to the left to select Save. Press Enter to save your waypoint.


Last edited by MissionMode on Apr 28, 2010 4:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Peter and Gloria



Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 255
Location: N50 00.___ W96 57.___

PostPosted: Jan 09, 2010 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GPS: Oregon 300 (& probably most if not all other Oregons)
How to enter manual coordinates:
1. Turn on using power button on right side of unit.
2. When the unit boots up, you'll be on an screen with icons and at the bottom of the screen, two black arrows (left & right). The Mark Waypoint icon may not show depending on the Profile Setting of the unit. If necessary, use the Right Black Arrow to scroll to the next screen of icons.
3. Press the Mark Waypoint Icon.
4. Press "Save and Edit"
5. Press "Change Location"
6. You'll probably never need this step. While the cursor is on 'N' or 'S' (or 'W' or 'E'), use the small up or down arrows to toggle to the other direction.
6. Use the small right arrow to move the cursor to the first number that you want to change. Be careful not to accidentally touch the "0" or "1" while moving the cursor.
7. Just touch the new numbers that you want for the latitude.
8. Once the cursor gets to the 'W' (or 'E'), use the small right arrow to move the cursor to the first number of the longitude that you want to change.
9. Just touch the new numbers that you want for the latitude.
10. Press the green check-mark in the lower right when all the numbers are right.
11. On this next screen,
a. Just press the red X and you're finished
b. You can Change Name, Symbol or Comment
c. You can scroll down to View Map or Project Waypoint.
d. If you View Map, you can press "Go" on the Map Screen to navigate to this waypoint
12. To enter more waypoint, go back to step 3.

One way to choose a waypoint to navigate to.
1. Press the "Where To?" icon. If you're already navigating to a waypoint, press "Find Another"
2. Select "Waypoints", select the waypoint that you want, then press "Go".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
glacier_ice



Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Feb 03, 2010 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This might be a good one to make sticky.
_________________
"So do they sometimes hide caches in dog poo like this?" "No, that's real poo. You might want to put that down."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pilotmounders



Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Apr 27, 2010 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would someone with a Colorado 300 be able to post a reply to this topic? I can't seem to figure this out as they don't touch on this in the user manuals. Thank you in advance if you can.

PilotMounders Cool

_________________
Those who dare win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Geo-Indy



Joined: 10 Sep 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Apr 28, 2010 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Colorado 300: This is the way I do it.

Power on (of course)
Press the Right Button for Shortcuts, scroll to Mark Waypoint, and select.
Here you can either Save (Done) or Edit the waypoint.
Select Edit. This takes you to a screen where you can change various items like the name, location, etc.
Scroll to Change Location and select.
Use the Outside scroll wheel to cycle through the number/letters. Use the Inside wheel to move the cursor position left or right. Use the Center Button to enter the selected number at the cursor location.
When you have the numbers you want entered press the Right button to select Done then select Back.
The new waypoint will be saved with either the name you entered or if you didn't change the name it will be saved with a sequential number (ie 006, 007 etc.) and the time the waypoint was saved.
Select Shortcuts then use the scroll wheel to select Where To? and then select Waypoints.
Use the scroll wheel to find your new waypoint or press the Left button and select Spell, then using the scroll wheel enter the waypoint name you entered. Then press the Centre wheel button to start navigating.

To Project a waypoint follow the steps above except don't change the location.
Go Shortcuts > Where To? > Waypoints.
Your new waypoint should be the first in the list (ie right where you are). Select it with the Right button, then press the Left Button (Options) , then Project Waypoint.
Using the scroll wheel enter bearing, select Done, choose your distance units and enter them using the scroll wheel, then select done If your numbers are correct select Yes to save the projected waypoint. This takes you to the map page showing the waypoints new location. Press the centre wheel button to navigate to the new waypoint location.
You can use either the map page or the compass to navigate.


Hope this helps.
Does anyone know how to measurethe distance between two points with the 300? With my old Etrex, as soon as you moved the cursor on the map it would give you a bearing/distance readout.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MBGA Forum Index -> Caching Time synchronized with your computer time
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

GPS
Central Landsharkz MBGA 5th Anniversary Geocoin GPS Wolf Hunt