Manitoba Geocaching Association


 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileEdit Profile/Settings   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Finding a cache #2

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MBGA Forum Index -> Caching
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EagerBeavers
Guest





PostPosted: Jul 30, 2006 8:02 pm    Post subject: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

The first question helped us know you have to enter the coordinates into the GPS- we just don't know how to enter the coordinates? Confused!

Back to top
lizardo



Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Jul 31, 2006 12:58 am    Post subject: RE: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

What is the make and model of your GPSr?



 



 



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
EagerBeavers
Guest





PostPosted: Aug 01, 2006 3:59 am    Post subject: RE: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

We have a Magellan, Meridian model (WAAS enabled).  We understand the coordinates for where ever we are as it is displayed on the GPS and we can find that spot on a map using those coordinates but we don't understand the relationship between how those coordinates are expressed and the ones posted for caches. Thanks     

Back to top
grnbrg



Joined: 27 Sep 2005
Posts: 248
Location: 4948.505', -9708.066'

PostPosted: Aug 01, 2006 4:29 am    Post subject: RE: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

EagerBeavers wrote:


We have a Magellan, Meridian model (WAAS enabled).  We understand the coordinates for where ever we are as it is displayed on the GPS and we can find that spot on a map using those coordinates but we don't understand the relationship between how those coordinates are expressed and the ones posted for caches. Thanks     






Do the co-ordinates your GPS shows look like: 14U E 637208 N 5535028? If this is the case, then your GPS is using the "UTM" co-ordinate system, and most of the co-ordinates published on geocaching.com are published using "Degrees and minutes" -- ie: N 49 57.110 W 097 05.239.



UTM is great, as most paper maps are scaled using this system. Geocaching is generally done with Degrees and Minutes. Your manual (or someone else posting here) should let you know how to adjust this setting.





grnbrg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
EagerBeavers
Guest





PostPosted: Aug 01, 2006 3:28 pm    Post subject: RE: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

Yes, they do. I think we have the answer now. We'll pour over the manual and hopefully go geocaching this weekend. Thanks so much. 

Back to top
bevro



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Aug 02, 2006 3:46 am    Post subject: RE: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

I have a Thales (Meridian) unit and you have to go into the setup menu and make sure you have selected the proper system.  Shud set to WGS83 (or is it 84, can't remember).  Once you have set that, you then have to navigate to the mode of display.  Meridian allows you a number of different options, and depending on your selection, you can display different ones at the same time.  I have mine set for DD mm.sss and DD.sssss which are displayed at the same time.  If you can't find the menu, drop me a line on Thursday when I get back to Winnipeg.  Having fun out here in Regina (a bit of an oximoron if ever I heard one!).



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lizardo



Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Aug 02, 2006 4:18 am    Post subject: RE: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

Actually, Bevro, isn't it displayed as DD MM.mmm?  Geocaching.com is using decimal minutes and not seconds.



EagerBeavers- You should also set the map datum to WGS84. To do this press Menu, then go to Setup<enter>, Map Datum<enter>, Primary<enter>, then choose WGS84 <enter>.  Unless you have a reason to use a different ellipsiod, you should set the primary AND the secondary datum settings to WGS84.



Also, make sure that the Coordinate System is set to Lat/Lon.  To do this press Menu, then goto Setup<enter>, then Coord System<enter>, Primary<enter>, Lat/Lon<enter>.  You will then be offered a choice of Coordinate Display methods.  Choose DD MIN.MMM (or DD MM.mmm, depending on your firmware version)



If you wish, you can set the secondary Coordinate system to UTM to allow you to see those readings on the GPS as well as the Degree Minute readout.



To enter coords manually into the GPS, you need to hold down the GOTO key for 2-3 seconds. You can now edit the two location fields. Simply highlight the first field <enter>, edit the coordinates using the thumbpad, and press enter.  That will send you to the second line, edit that<enter> and then scroll down to the Save button<enter>.  You can use the same screen to edit the "WPT001" entry to something more intuitive.  But that is part of my advanced class, you have to pay for that!



Hope that helps.  Good luck.



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
EagerBeavers
Guest





PostPosted: Aug 03, 2006 1:29 am    Post subject: RE: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

Thank you Bevro and Lizardo - because the manual didn't help. We have set things following your instructions, WGS84 and Dec.min.mmm but when we go to enter the coordinates the GPS won't take the #6 in N49.649.  We are off for the weekend and will pick up from here on Tuesday.      

Back to top
lizardo



Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Aug 03, 2006 2:02 am    Post subject: RE: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

N 49.649? Where is that number from? geocaching.com wouldn't publish that number as it does not represent proper minute notation.  The most significant "M" digit will never be greater than 5.



That sounds like degree decimal notation.  But it usually has more digits after the decimal.



DD.dddddd -degree decimal



DD MM.mmm-minute decimal <- This is the setting you want



DD MM' SS(.ss)"-Degree Minute Second



-- Edited by Lizardo at 21:03, 2006-08-02

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
bevro



Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Aug 03, 2006 6:07 pm    Post subject: RE: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

Excellent mini tutorial, Lizardo.  Now that I am back in the office and actually have my Thales in hand, your simple to follow directions work for the most part.  I'm not sure what 'go to' button you're holding down on your Magellan but on my unit, you have to go to the menu key, select set up and move the cursor down to 'GOTO' and hit enter.  This opens another menu screen that allows you to search using different criteria like user waypoint, cities, highways, airports etc and will search from the nearest to far.



I have complete faith, Lizardo, if I ever need a rod'person' to run in another rail spur somewhere in northern Ontario, I can call upon your expertize.  One question though.  How good are you at swinging a brush axe while staking centerline, posting elevations AND swatting off black flies the size of your fist (concurrently)? 



-- Edited by bevro at 13:08, 2006-08-03

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lizardo



Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 497
Location: Winnipeg

PostPosted: Aug 04, 2006 2:21 am    Post subject: RE: Finding a cache #2 Reply with quote

Wow, Bevro, you had me at "Hello".  Sounds like a great time.



Geez, I hope we are talking about the same Meridians.  This is the link to the manual I was referencing for directions.



http://www.magellangps.com/assets/manuals/Meridian_series_en.pdf



There is an older meridian (discontinued in 97) that has the flip up antenna.  If that is the case, then my instructions may be useless.  Here is the link to the manual for that product.



http://www.magellangps.com/assets/manuals/meridian_XL_en.pdf



 



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MBGA Forum Index -> Caching Time synchronized with your computer time
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

GPS
Central Landsharkz MBGA 5th Anniversary Geocoin GPS Wolf Hunt